IRTPA

World Championships News

World Challenge Venue 2018

The Queen’s Club will be the host of the World Challenge in 2018.  The dates of the challenge matches are the 24th, 26th and 28th April. There will be a handicap doubles tournament run throughout the week with the final on the morning of Saturday 28th A Pro Am...

Read more »

World Championship Bidding

Details of how to bid for the 2018 World Championship can be read by clicking the image below.  Bids for being the host club in 2018 should be with the IRTPA by the 27th February 2017.  The world championships enters a new era with the new champion, Camden Riviere, defending...

Read more »

Camden Riviere Honoured By Aiken

Camden Riviere first played this sport as a child in Aiken and he has just been honoured by the town for his massive achievement on becoming the world’s 25th holder of the World Championship. Below is an extract of his play during the challenge match at Newport and the...

Read more »

A New World Champion

Camden Riviere is the new world champion The result of the long anticipated challenge is now known and with the amazing broadcast of the tennis through the week you can now see replays of how it all unfolded.  He defeated Rob Fahey over three days 7/2.  It was awesome tennis,...

Read more »

1st Day of the Challenge – A View From the Dedans

The first 4 sets of the best of 13 set challenge were played on Tuesday 17th May. For those who were unable to be present but had access to the internet, there was streaming of this being broadcast at the highest level currently obtainable.  It was just as well it...

Read more »

World Championship Streaming

  The streaming for the world championship is available on this link The match time in Newport on Tuesday 17th May and Thursday 19th May is 17:30 EDT, 22:30 GMT, 23:30 CET,  07:30 AEST (plus a day). On Saturday 21st May the match time in Newport is 13:00 EDT, 18:00 GMT, 19:00...

Read more »

Camden Riviere Thoughts On The Upcoming Challenge

  The World Challenge 17th – 21st May 2016 Camden Riviere’s thoughts on the upcoming challenge

Read more »

Rob Fahey’s 2nd interview and some stats

Since Rob Fahey defeated Wayne Davies in 1994 at a double venue challenge and both challenges being the best of 13 sets the table below shows the dominance of the world champion over his last 12 defences, but first a video of Rob’s second interview on his upcoming defence in Newport....

Read more »

Fahey -v- Riviere in the 2016 Challenge

Camden Riviere won the 1st of the possible 5 sets on the third day of play to reach the challenge round for the third time.  The score for the 2016 final eliminator was 6/3, 6/2, 5/6, 6/1, 6/2, 4/6, 6/5, 6/2, 6/3. The Challenge in Newport is during the week of...

Read more »

Final Eliminator Will Go To A Third Day

The Final Eliminator for the right to play Rob Fahey in Newport is tantalisingly close for Camden Riviere who leads 6 sets to 2 sets and needing an additional set to continue his world championship quest.  Steve Virgona has to win all of the remaining 5 sets to see...

Read more »